Blue Bombers advance to 3rd straight Grey Cup with win over Lions in West Division final


Blue Bombers’ operating again Brady Oliveira rushed for 130 yards on 20 carries to lead Winnipeg to a 28-20 victory over the B.C. Lions in the West Division final on Sunday afternoon.

Oliveira additionally caught 4 passes for 37 yards earlier than 30,319 followers at IG Field in Winnipeg.

The Bombers at the moment are one win away from successful three consecutive CFL championships for the primary time in franchise historical past. And they might win three consecutive Grey Cup titles for the primary time since 1982 (Edmonton) once they tackle the Toronto Argonauts in the Grey Cup sport in Regina subsequent Sunday. The Argos defeated the Montreal Alouettes 34-27 in the East Division final.

Winnipeg quarterback Zach Collaros accomplished 14 of 20 passes for 178 yards, together with a 19-yard landing cross to receiver Dalton Schoen, with one interception.

Bombers’ punt returner Janarion Grant additionally returned a kick 92 yards for a landing and backup quarterback Dakota Prukop scored on a two-yard TD run.

Winnipeg placekicker Marc Liegghio kicked area objectives of 44, 24 and 16 yards and related on solely one in all three convert makes an attempt.

B.C. quarterback Nathan Rourke accomplished 20 of 37 passes for 299 yards, together with a 14-yard TD toss to receiver Alexander Hollins, with two picks. Backup quarterback Antonio Pipkin additionally scored on a two-yard run.

Sean Whyte booted a 42-yard area purpose and kicked two converts. Punter Stefan Flintoft additionally kicked a 56-yard single. Returner Terry Williams additionally scored two factors on a missed convert return.

The Lions pulled to inside 28-20 with lower than three minutes to play. Rourke accomplished a 14-yard landing cross to Hollins. Whyte’s convert made the rating 28-20.

Prukop capped off a nine-play, 75-yard drive with a two-yard TD run, which gave Winnipeg a 25-11 lead. However, Lions’ returner Terry Williams returned Liegghio’s missed convert 126-yards for 2 factors to make the rating 25-13. It was the primary missed-convert-return for 2 in CFL playoff historical past.

The Lions opened the scoring in the second half when Whyte booted a 42-yard area purpose on their opening drive to pull B.C. to inside 19-11.

Liegghio related on a 24-yard area purpose on the final play of a sloppily-played first half to give the Bombers a 19-8 lead over B.C.

92-yard punt return TD

Grant made amends for fumbling the ball away when he returned a Stefan Flintoft punt 92 yards for a landing early in the second quarter. Liegghio’s convert gave Winnipeg a 16-7 lead. It was the second-longest punt return in Bombers playoff historical past. Jason Arnstead returned one for 93 yards in 2008.

Liegghio kicked a 44-yard area purpose to give the Bombers a 9-7 lead heading into the second quarter.

B.C. took benefit of some massive breaks on their first possession. First, the command centre overturned a Bombers blocked punt, claiming the participant who blocked it (linebacker Tanner Cadwallader) must be charged with roughing the kicker.

Then, Grant fumbled the ball on a punt return. Lions defensive lineman Mathieu Betts recovered the ball on the Winnipeg eight and returned it to the 2. Pipkin then scored on a two-yard run. Whyte’s convert gave B.C. a 7-6 lead.

The Bombers had opened the scoring on their first possession. After taking the opening kickoff, their six-play, 74-yard scoring drive was capped with a 19-yard landing cross from Collaros to Schoen. The drive was keyed by a 40-yard completion to Demski. Liegghio missed the convert.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here