Bombers QB Collaros guns for 2nd straight CFL outstanding player award


Another 12 months, one other West Division outstanding player nomination for Zach Collaros.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers quarterback secured the Western nomination Tuesday for a second straight 12 months. Collaros captured the CFL’s outstanding player award final 12 months, then capped his season by main the Bombers to a second straight Grey Cup title.

Collaros completed with over 4,000 yards passing for the primary time and his 37 TD strikes had been a CFL excessive as he led Winnipeg to a CFL-best 15-3 report, which was additionally a franchise report for most regular-season victories.

Montreal receiver Eugene Lewis captured the East Division nomination in voting carried out by the Football Reporters of Canada and 9 CFL head coaches. The Alouettes star was third total in receiving with 91 receptions for 1,303 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Lewis is the second straight Montreal player to be a finalist for the outstanding player honour as working again William Stanback was named the East Division’s high player final 12 months.

The CFL’s high defensive player award shall be contested by its high two sack artists. Ottawa’s Lorenzo Mauldin IV (league-high 17 sacks, career-best 43 tackles) secured the East Division nod whereas Calgary’s Shawn Lemon (second total with 14 sacks, career-high 29 tackles) is the West Division nominee.

B.C. quarterback Nathan Rourke and Toronto receiver Kurleigh Gittens Jr., are the finalists for the highest Canadian honour. Rourke threw for over 3,300 yards and had 25 TDs in posting an 8-2 report because the Lions starter, main the membership to wins in eight of its first 9 video games earlier than struggling a foot damage that required surgical procedure.

Gittens Jr. led all Canadian receivers in catches (81), yards (career-best 1,101) whereas posting a career-high 5 TD grabs for Toronto.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers receiver Dalton Schoen led the CFL in receiving with 70 catches for 1,441 yards with 16 TDs in his rookie season. (Jeff McIntosh/The Canadian Press)

For a second straight 12 months, Winnipeg’s Stanley Bryant and Hamilton’s Brandon Revenberg are the finalists for the highest lineman award. Bryant earned the honour in 2021 to change into the primary player in league historical past to take action thrice.

Revenberg and Bryant had been additionally finalists in 2018, with Bryant being named the award winner.

Receivers Dalton Schoen of Winnipeg and Tyson Philpot of Montreal are the highest rookie candidates. Schoen led the CFL in receiving with 70 catches for 1,441 yards with 16 TDs whereas Philpot had 39 receptions for 459 yards and two touchdowns.

Returners Mario Alford of Saskatchewan and Chandler Worthy of Montreal earned divisional special-teams honours. Alford had a league-high 4 return TDs (punt, two kickoffs, missed subject purpose) and 1,689 mixed return yards. He’s the eleventh player in CFL historical past to register 4 return TDs in a season and simply the fourth to attain in all three return classes.

Worthy had a CFL record-tying two kickoff return TDs this season and a career-high 1,824 mixed return yards, registering six punt returns of 30 or extra yards and 4 kickoffs of 40-plus yards.

Winnipeg’s Mike O’Shea and Toronto’s Ryan Dinwiddie are finalists for coach-of-the-year honours for a second straight 12 months. The Blue Bombers completed atop the West Division with their 15-3 report whereas Toronto (11-7) was first within the East Division for the second season in a row.

O’Shea claimed final 12 months’s honour after Winnipeg completed first within the West with an 11-3 report in the course of the CFL’s abbreviated 2021 season. The native of North Bay, Ont., is in his eighth season with the Bombers and is the league’s longest-serving head coach.

The CFL’s awards banquet shall be held Nov. 17 in Regina.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here