French author Annie Ernaux wins Nobel Prize in Literature


French writer Annie Ernaux, who has fearlessly mined her personal biography to discover life in France because the Forties, was awarded this 12 months’s Nobel Prize in Literature on Thursday for work that illuminates the murky corners of reminiscence, household and society.

The Swedish Academy mentioned Ernaux, 82, was acknowledged for “the braveness and scientific acuity” of books rooted in her background in a working-class household within the Normandy area of northwest France.

Ernaux’s autobiographical books discover deeply private experiences and emotions — love, intercourse, abortion, disgrace — inside a society break up by gender and sophistication divisions.

Anders Olsson, chairman of the Nobel literature committee, mentioned Ernaux is “an especially sincere author who isn’t afraid to confront the arduous truths.”

“She writes about issues that nobody else writes about, for example her abortion, her jealousy, her experiences as an deserted lover and so forth. I imply, actually arduous experiences,” he mentioned after the award announcement in Stockholm.

“And she or he offers phrases for these experiences which are quite simple and hanging. They’re quick books, however they’re actually shifting.”

seventeenth girl amongst 119 Nobel literature laureates

One among France’s most-garlanded authors and a distinguished feminist voice, Ernaux mentioned she was glad to have gained the prize, which carries a money award of 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.2 million Cdn) — however “not greatly surprised.”

“I’m very glad, I’m proud. Voila, that is all,” Ernaux mentioned in short remarks to journalists exterior her residence in Cergy, a city west of Paris that she has written about.

Ernaux is the primary feminine French Nobel literature winner and simply the seventeenth girl among the many 119 Nobel literature laureates. She labored as a trainer earlier than changing into a full-time author. Her first e-book was Cleaned Out in 1974. 

Within the e-book that made her title, A Man’s Place, printed in 1983 and about her relationship together with her father, she writes: “No lyrical reminiscences, no triumphant shows of irony. This impartial writing model involves me naturally.”

Disgrace, printed in 1997, explored a childhood trauma, whereas Occurring, from 2000, depicts an unlawful abortion.

The e-book The Years (Les annees), printed in 2008, is displayed throughout the announcement of the 2022 Nobel Prize in Literature, in Borshuset, Stockholm, Sweden, on Thursday. (Henrik Montgomery/TT Information Company through The Related Press)

Her most critically acclaimed e-book is The Years, printed in 2008, which described herself and wider French society from the top of the Second World Battle to the twenty first century.

“It’s her most bold venture, which has given her a world status and a raft of followers and literary disciples,” the Academy mentioned of that e-book, which obtained quite a few awards and honours.

Range pledge

The literature prize has lengthy confronted criticism that it’s too targeted on European and North American writers, in addition to too male-dominated. Final 12 months’s prize winner, Tanzanian-born, U.Ok.-based author Abdulrazak Gurnah, was solely the sixth Nobel literature laureate born in Africa.

Olsson mentioned the academy was working to diversify its vary, drawing on consultants in literature from totally different areas and languages.

“We attempt to broaden the idea of literature however it’s the high quality that counts, in the end,” he mentioned.

In 2018, the award was postponed after intercourse abuse allegations rocked the Swedish Academy, which names the Nobel literature committee, and sparked an exodus of members. The academy revamped itself however confronted extra criticism for giving the 2019 literature award to Austria’s Peter Handke, who has been referred to as an apologist for Serbian battle crimes.

Whereas many earlier literature winners had been already broadly learn earlier than touchdown the prize, the award generates big media consideration and might catapult lesser-known authors to international fame whereas spurring e-book gross sales even for literary superstars.

Precisely predicting the winner of the literature award is educated guesswork at greatest and favourites to win this 12 months’s prize included a string of authors who’ve been thought-about to be excessive within the working for years, together with Canadians Margaret Atwood and Anne Carson.

Some prizes have gone to writers from exterior mainstream literary genres, together with French thinker Henri Bergson in 1927, British Prime Minister Winston Churchill in 1953 and American singer-songwriter Bob Dylan in 2016.

Canada’s Alice Munro gained the award in 2013, whereas final 12 months’s prize was awarded to Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here