HomeSportsGrey Cup: Blue Bombers quarterback Collaros headlines 2022 CFL all-star team

Grey Cup: Blue Bombers quarterback Collaros headlines 2022 CFL all-star team


Zach Collaros of the Grey Cup-bound Winnipeg Blue Bombers headlines the CFL’s 2022 all-star team.

The 27-player all-star roster was launched Tuesday by the CFL upfront of the league championship this Sunday in Regina.

Collaros had a league-leading 37 landing passes and was second with 4,183 passing yards this season. The reigning CFL excellent participant is a finalist for this yr’s award.

He was certainly one of six Winnipeg gamers honoured because the Blue Bombers strive for a 3rd straight Grey Cup victory. One of his favorite targets, receiver Dalton Schoen, was additionally named after posting 1,441 yards and 16 touchdowns in his rookie season.

The Calgary Stampeders, who misplaced to B.C. within the West Division semifinal, had a league-high eight gamers named to the team, together with league-leading rusher Ka’Deem Carey (1,088 yards) and kicker Rene Paredes.

Paredes, from Pierrefonds, Que., was named a CFL all-star for the fifth time after hitting 90 per cent of his subject objectives (54-for-60).

The Toronto Argonauts, who will meet Winnipeg within the Grey Cup, had three representatives, tied with Hamilton for many within the East Division.

Six Canadians have been named to the team: Paredes, Toronto receiver Kurleigh Gittens Jr., Calgary centre Sean McEwen, Hamilton guard Brandon Revenberg, Winnipeg guard Patrick Neufeld and Calgary linebacker Cameron Judge.


OFFENCE — Quarterback Zach Collaros (Winnipeg); working again Ka’Deem Carey (Calgary); receiver Dalton Schoen (Winnipeg); receiver Eugene Lewis (Montreal); receiver Dominique Rhymes (B.C.); receiver Tim White (Hamilton); receiver Kurleigh Gittens Jr. (Toronto), centre Sean McEwen (Calgary), guard Brandon Revenberg (Hamilton), guard Patrick Neufeld (Winnipeg), deal with Stanley Bryant (Winnipeg), deal with Derek Dennis (Calgary).

DEFENCE — Defensive finish Lorenzo Mauldin IV (Ottawa); defensive finish Shawn Lemon (Calgary); defensive deal with Mike Rose (Calgary), defensive deal with Jake Ceresna (Edmonton), linebacker Wynton McManis (Toronto), linebacker Cameron Judge (Calgary), linebacker Kameron Kelly (Hamilton), cornerback Jamal Peters (Toronto), cornerback Garry Peters (B.C.), defensive again Marcus Sayles (B.C.), defensive again Deatrick Nichols (Winnipeg), security Loucheiz Purifoy (B.C.).

SPECIAL TEAMS — Kicker Rene Paredes (Calgary), punter Cody Grace (Calgary), return specialist Janarion Grant (Winnipeg).

   This report by The Canadian Press was first printed Nov. 15, 2022.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

New updates