Watch the 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize replay


The 2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize gala shall be broadcast dwell on CBC tv, radio and on-line on Monday, Nov. 7.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $100,000 to the 12 months’s finest work of Canadian fiction. The ceremony shall be co-hosted by bestselling poet Rupi Kaur and Alias Grace star Sarah Gadon.

The ceremony shall be broadcast on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Listen and CBC Radio at 9 p.m. native time (11:30 AT/12 midnight NT) and shall be streamed on-line at CBC Books, YouTube and Facebook at 9 p.m. ET.

This 12 months the prize celebrates its twenty ninth anniversary. The hour-long present options all the shortlisted books, revealing the winner at the finish.

The 5 finalists are:

Canadian creator Casey Plett is chairing the five-person jury panel this 12 months. Joining her are Canadian authors Kaie Kellough and Waubgeshig Rice and American writers Katie Kitamura and Scott Spencer.

Last 12 months’s winner was Omar El Akkad for his novel What Strange Paradise

Other previous Giller Prize winners embrace Souvankham Thammavongsa for How to Pronounce KnifeEsi Edugyan for Washington BlackMichael Redhill for Bellevue SquareMargaret Atwood for Alias GraceMordecai Richler for Barney’s VersionAlice Munro for RunawayAndré Alexis for Fifteen Dogs and Madeleine Thien for Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch based the prize in honour of his late spouse, literary journalist Doris Giller, in 1994. Rabinovitch died in 2017 at the age of 87.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here